Dysphoria

Barbie, Bratz, Powerpuff Girls, and everything sparkly.

G.I. Joe, Dragonball Z, WWE, and everything filthy.

No, you can’t play with the boys.

No, we don’t want to play with girls.

Cause what’s between my legs has already made every decision for me. 

Who I like.

Who I am.

What I do.

How I act.

That’s what I’ve been told.

I wanna wear a dress and kick ass like Buttercup.

I wanna be as funny and selfless as Goku.

I wanna be who I wanna be.

I want to strut down the sidewalk feeling like a queen.

I want to hide in my hoodie while I cruise.

I don’t want these external organs.

I thought you thought this way.

These thoughts are only my own.

Can I walk around without being catcalled?

Can I walk around without being judged?

That somehow the reproductive organ I was born with dictates everything I do?

I’ll wear my sundress.

I’ll chill in my sweats.

I’ll show off my curves.

I’ll hide it in a bind. 

I’ll curse when I lose a game.

I’ll roll my eyes when it doesn’t go my way.

I’ll sit with my legs open.

I’ll cross them when I want.

Cause I’m still Heather no matter what anyone says.

(They/Them)

Leave a comment